Sonico, created in Brussels (Belgium) in 2015, is dedicated to rescuing the music of Eduardo Rovira, a fundamental composer in the creation of the New Tango.
Often mistakenly considered “the other Piazzolla”, his innovations achieved a creative fusion between the roots of tango and classical music that left its mark during the Porteño Avant-Garde of the 60s.
In August 2018 Sonico presented its first album, “Eduardo Rovira: La Otra Vanguardia”. This album was chosen by Billboard magazine as part of its top 10 in the Tango category.
This recording was made at the Belgian National Opera (“La Monnaie”) and had its European premiere in March 2019 at Bozar / Palace of Fine Arts in Brussels.
In five years, Sonico became one of the most prestigious modern tango groups.
They performed in important concert halls and festivals in Europe and Latin America, such as Brussels Jazz Flagey (BE), Pietrasanta in Concerto (IT), Usina del Arte (ARG), Lateinamerikawoche Nürnberg. (DE), among others.
“Eduardo Rovira: Inedito e Inconcluso”, Sonico’s second album, was recorded in December 2019 at the Academiezaal (Sint-Truiden, BE).
Rolling Stone magazine has chosen Sonico as one of the 7 essential groups for the reconstruction of modern tango.
In March 2020, Sonico & Lisi Estaras presented, at the Grote Post (Ostend, BE), The Heart is the muscle we like to work out, the first dance creation inspired by the music of Rovira. This work, chosen for the Les Plateaux 2020 (FR) edition, is part of the 20/21 season of KVS / Koninklijke Vlaamse Schouwburg.
During the 21-22 season, Sonico will celebrate Astor Piazzolla’s centenary with the album, “Piazzolla – Rovira: The Edge of Tango.
The album, which will pre-premiere at the BOZAR / Klara festival, includes Piazzolla’s first avant-garde works, performed with the Octeto Buenos Aires.
The charts, destroyed by Piazzolla himself in the early 60s, have not been performed since then.
In September 2021, Sonico will release the album during a Latin American tour. 


Related Posts

Acero Jazz

Acero Jazz is a musical group made up of five musicians: Piano, Flute, Electric Bass, Drums, and...

read more

Follow Us